Giant Dumplings!

My boyfriend and I recently made a trip to Beloit, Wisconsin.  While we were there, we went out to eat at a cozy little family owned diner called The Mouse.

This place should be on the Food Network.  They have the BIGGEST dumplings I have ever witnessed.  Their version of chicken and dumpling night is 2 or 4 pieces of fried chicken with a gargantuan dumpling.  This place could easily start a food competition to see who could eat a giant dumpling and some fried chicken.  I’d love to see someone actually finish the 4 piece and a dumpling.  Word on the street is it happens frequently . . .

Just to give you an idea, that’s a chicken breast next to that dumpling.  The dumpling was literally the size of my head!  The great part is, its fantastic.  It was actually pretty light and perfectly done.  And the gravy was fantastic.  I know because I am not a fan of gravy, but you could have put this on an old shoe and I probably would have eaten it.

If you are ever in southern Wisconsin, I highly recommend The Mouse and their chicken and dumpling night.  But be prepared for leftovers.  Lots of them!

Leave a Reply

