Fish Tacos

An old friend recently requested more fish or seafood recipes on the blog, and I am happy to oblige.  It’s funny that I have not posted more about seafood, as it is a favorite of mine.  Whenever I go out to eat, I often order fish because it is so rare to get truly fresh seafood in the midwest.  That being said, I do like cooking fish, almost as much as I love eating it, so I suspect there will be more posts like this to follow. (Especially as summer arrives, and fish becomes a little cheaper to buy!)

I had recently bought some halibut that has been sitting in the freezer.  I had some ambitious plans for it.  I wanted to recreate an Iron Chef recipe I had seen.  Unfortunately, I hadn’t taken the time to note what I had seen, or how I planned on making it.  So, as the halibut sat in the freezer, I became anxious to have some, but unsure of what to do with it.

Finally, I decided to do an old standby – fish tacos.  I have made these before, and fish with a cabbage slaw makes excellent tacos.  It’s easy too!  I based my recipe from this website.

For Tacos:

1 teaspoon  ground cumin

1  teaspoon  ground coriander

1/2  teaspoon  smoked paprika

1/4  teaspoon  ground red pepper

1/8  teaspoon  salt

1/8  teaspoon  garlic powder

For Slaw:

1 cup shredded cabbage

1/3 cup sour cream

2 Tablespoons mayo

1/2 tsp garlic powder

dash of salt

1 teaspoon of lime juice

Corn tortillas

1 Tablespoon of oil

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Place the fish in an dish sprayed with cooking spray.  In a separate bowl, combine the cumin, corriander, paprika, red pepper, salt and garlic powder.  Sprinkle this mixture over the fish.  Cook for approximately 9-10 minutes or until fish flakes easily.

Thinly slice 1/2 to 1/3 of a head of cabbage.  In a bowl, mix mayo, sour cream, garlic salt, and lime juice and a dash of salt.  Add cabbage to mixture and combine well.

While fish is cooking, heat oil in a pan and fry one side of the corn tortillas.  This makes them slightly crispy, but still able to be folded to eat.

Assemble tacos and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

