Cheddar Chive Biscuits

The other day I was craving something salty and delicious.  My stomach had been bothering me and I wanted something that was easy on the tummy and tasty at the same time.  I also wanted that was quick and easy to make, since I wasn’t feeling too well.

I spent some time online looking for recipes.  I browsed my favorite website for recipes, foodgawker.com.  Page, after page, there were lots of different options.   However, a recipe for cheese biscuits caught my eye.  I had some leftover jambalaya in the fridge, and I thought the leftover biscuits would be delicious with it.

However, as usual, I didn’t have exactly the same ingredients.  I ended up doing what I always do, working with what I have!  I added a good amount of cheese and some fresh chives from my small garden.  I also didn’t have any buttermilk on hand, so I made some at home!  If you don’t have buttermilk at home, here’s an easy way to make your own at home.  Just mix one Tablespoon of vinegar per cup of milk.  Let this mixture sit for approximately 5 minutes.  Viola!  Buttermilk!

Adapted from Thibeault’s Table recipe

1 cup of flour

1 1/2 tsp of baking powder

1/4 tsp of salt

1/4 cup of butter

1/2 cup of buttermilk

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 Tbl chopped chives

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray.

Mix flour, baking powder and salt.  Cut in the butter.  To see directions on how to do this, see my post on Raspberry Rhubarb Crumble.  Add salt and pepper.  Stir in milk, cheese, and chives with a fork.  Pat together dough with hands.  Do not over mix batter.  It should still be slightly lumpy.

Drop batter into 1 1/2 inch rounds on prepared cookie sheet.  Bake for approximately 12 to 15 minutes.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

